Does this happen to everyone?

Last updated on 3 years ago
elegantminded
elegantminded Posted 8 years ago
Hey! I'm new here. I'm an amateur writer. I find it very easy to write stuff in my head but very hard to actually put those words (in my head) very difficult. Any tips on how to get over that??? Also, I'm finding it very difficult to develop personalities of my characters. My protagonist's character okay but the others....I'm finding it very hard. Ive come to the middle of my book (in my head not in paper) but I find it very hard to get ideas to move on. I also don't have any idea on how to end my book. Is this what people call writer's block? If so how do I get over it? Where do I get inspiration from? Thanks a lot everyone. This place has been amazing so far!!
Remember, we are all in this alone ~ Lily Tomlin
5 posts
Vermithrax
Vermithrax Posted 8 years ago
Writers block..I tend tio think not. You say the ideas are in your head, and that the problem is getting them from the concept you have, and turning them into acgtual words.

The only cure for this, that I'm aware of is - just write.
Write your ideas down - in a notebook; on a pc screen; hell - you you can scribble them on toilet tissue in that most esteemed thniking place, if it helps.

What it comes down to, is that initial and monumental act of putting pen to paper, metaphorically speaking. getting something concrete down, that can be seen; read; mulled over - and improved.

It's said that the brain is a muscle; that needs constant stimulation in order to flourish. This could also be said of writing; the more you do it, the stronger - the better- you get.

Write; read - write; read - read what you've written aloud, and see what it sounds like. Write some more, and keep on writing. The more you write, the more you'll see what needs improvment, what lacks detail,, what needs more detail. Visualise your ideas, and write what you see in your minds eye.